Home

Gardeners are by nature, optimists. How else could one look at a frozen clump of dirt and picture lush gardens? I have ordered my seed, spread compost and realized that I am probably already behind. But that shall not deter me. Hopeful broccoli sprouts are now sitting on the deck since the weatherman is predicting a rare 70 degrees today.  More infant broccoli, along with baby cabbage and lavender are sunning under the plant lights. I realize that the tomatoes need to be started soon.

This morning Wallace planted a beautiful double flowering camelia bush which blooms in February. Our daffodills are up but not yet ready to flower although it is early March and last year some bloomed way before now. I did prune some things at the appropriate time and others not–we’ll see what happens.

I have spent the usual hours with the seed and plant catalogues. I always order my seed from Pinetree in Maine. You know, similar climate Maine-North Carolina right? Actually the reason I order from them is that they have varieties of French fillet beans, and huge roma type tomatoes that I can’t find anywhere else. They sell seeds in small quantities (I am not really going to plant 2000 cucumbers) and their customer service is amazing. I also like asking them what the weather is like in Maine, although the day I ordered it was warmer there than here.(Note to global climate change scoffers–it is REAL!!!!)

And speaking of scoffers, there’s the no vaccination movement. Can there be rare serious side effects to vaccines–absolutely. But there are many more serious side effects possible from the diseases themselves–just ask the American Indians. We killed far more of them with our European diseases than with guns.  I am all about natural living, but int this global age, we can’t isolate oursleves from contagious disease–why would we not protect our children?

But back to gardens and optimism. I think I will go pick up onion sets and seed potatoes today and maybe plant peas. I long to see green (other than chickweed) emerging from the soil. Apparently the horses are equally eager. They leave their round bale to look for baby grass. Zoey was eating the chickweed I had thrown over the fence, carefully shaking off the dirt from the roots. Whiteout came to claim it, but decided she didn’t really like it after all.

I will come in dirty and tired, but feeling more at one with my surroundings. Peace to all.

ask theespec

One thought on “The Eternal Optimist

  1. I think a plastic tunnel is the only way for me to go! Broccoli must be planted the year before with us, and by the time my beans are really ready for picking I am away…

Leave a Reply

